Before we get started…

This is the first post of what I hope to be a long-running and interesting blog. I’m not a skilled blogger, nor do I believe that what I write will change the world. I do hope that this blog will allow readers to follow me on a life-changing adventure though. So here it is: In a month, I will be traveling  moving to Japan. To be specific, Shibushi-shi Kagoshima-ken, a place of mild(ish) winters, relatively mild summers, and an ash-spewing volcano!  The area also produces the largest volume of freshwater eel, called unagi.

I absolutely love eel. It’s like barbecued, fishy chicken. Delicious. I also have been fascinated by Japan for about as long as I can remember.  So, of course, traveling to the southern Japanese island of Kyushu is a dream come true for me. Yes, I am a little scared (my Japanese is less than impressive, and because I am so far from the well-traveled parts of Japan, I don’t know a whole lot about my future home). BUT what an adventure this will be!

Because I am currently still counting down the days on my parents’ Texas farm, I do not have much to say yet. August 22nd, that is sure to change.

Leave a Reply

