Single Chair

Sometimes, we do things we don’t want to because we know they are good for us. Sometimes human interaction is overwhelming and painful and hard. Life is hard. But sometimes we make ourselves do the things we don’t want to because we have to, and it all ends up being okay.

I made myself go to this party, even though I didn’t want to. And somewhere between dancing to Bob Marley and writing in my journal that night, I realized that sometimes you really just have to pull yourself together and put on your happy face. Just be happy.

That moment probably came when we were sitting outside and talking about pain. Everyone has pain, but what you do with it is what makes the difference. Across from our table there was another, with just a single chair. It was facing us, and the porch light shone directly on to it. It was just sort of perfect. Sometimes life puts us in this single isolated chair, facing everyone else. What we do in that chair–how we react with the light and the people looking at us–says a lot about who we are. I’m trying really hard to not let that pressure of being watched from the chair cause me to run away.

So I’m taking some inspiration from these pictures I took of some friends, all of whom are doing quite well in that chair I think.

singlechairtoisinglechairhasandrach

Leave a Reply

