Night at the Aquarium

Tokyo, naturally, is full of exciting things to do. I’m a little bit glad I don’t live there, though, because I’d never have any money. There’s just so much going on.

One night during the week, my friend and I decided to go to the Art Aquarium set up in the Nihonbashi Mitsui Hall. We bought our tickets before at 7-11 and got a drink discount. The day event does not serve alcohol as far as I know, but in the evening, it turns into a “Night Aquarium” complete with adult beverages. On the weekends they also have live music!

I told a lot of people I was excited about the Art Aquarium, and they laughed at me. Maybe they just didn’t understand what it means. The exhibit, called Edo Eco, takes Edo era lantern shapes and designs to create artistic fish bowls. Then the bowls are filled with interesting goldfish and lit with colorful lights. Everything was so well thought out and very modern. Each of the aquariums had their own unique features; some distorted the fishes bodies, and others were simple, allowing the fish to shine. It was, for lack of better adjectives, so cool.

 

 

 

The Art and Night Aquariums run until September 23rd and the entrance fee is 1000 yen. Be sure to check out their website for more information!

Leave a Reply

