Where have you been?

I’ve been pretty MIA recently, and I apologize. I’ve been super busy. The old school year has finished and another has begun, so I’ve been wrapped up in planning new lessons for new classes and getting used to all the teacher changes. Let me say that I am very excited to start the non-ALT part of my life, because dealing with some of the teachers at my elementary schools is a nightmare. All but maybe two or three of them speak zero English, and yet half of them insist on controlling the lesson (but not their students) and I frankly can’t take it anymore. My junior high remains a very exciting and interesting place, and some of the new teachers seem really cool as well…so no complaints there. BUT ELEMENTARY SCHOOL! I love the kids though. In the next couple of days, I’ll definitely be posting about some of the crazy and cute things they say.

new school year opening ceremony

new school year opening ceremony

In addition to all that I’ve had a lot more social gatherings planned because of the beautiful change in weather. It’s like all the bears have come out of hibernation and are ready to go fishing. Everyone is doing something. I also can’t really complain about this; being busy with fun is never a bad thing. Although I wish I had a few more days to myself, it’s been great to see most of my local friends and catch up!

we wet to a rock festival at Sakurajima (volcano)

we went to a rock festival at Sakurajima (volcano)

sp 121

Tesla wa nakanai–pianist

sp 089 sp 092 sp 106

Tesla doesn't know how to cry's singer and the gang

Tesla doesn’t know how to cry’s singer and the gang

a little jazz concert in a temple

a little jazz concert in a temple

had an amazing friend date with one of my favorite people

had an amazing friend date with one of my favorite people

monthly international party in Shibushi

monthly international party in Shibushi

The biggest consumer of my time, though, has definitely been the band. We’ve been really focusing on polishing our original songs and getting ready for shows. We had one today at Kanoya Earth Day, and we should play at least one next month as well. I am so into this band, and I’m super excited to play live more. Creating music is definitely a challenge, especially when you’re writing personal lyrics and all that, but it is so rewarding when it all comes together. If we get some good videos or recordings done, I’ll be sure to share them on my other blog!

sp 387

the boys of Ashfall

the whole band and a friend

More adventures and pictures to come!

3 thoughts on “Where have you been?

  1. What do you play in the band, or are you vocals? What’s the band called? That’s pretty cool you’ve had some gigs.

    So you’re done with the initial program you went there on but you got another teaching job? Was it easy to find the new job?

    • I play piano and sing a bit as well. We have three singers which is fun! I’m the least experienced (aka worst) person in the band though so it’s definitely been a chance to grow in many ways.

      I’m contracted till August for this job. I’m going to start looking for a new job seriously in June because Japan has a job season and most job postings outside of it ask for immediate start.

  2. That’s awesome you’re in a band, do you play an instrument or are you vocals or both?

    So you’re done with the original teaching program but you found another teaching job? Are you still in the same city? How hard was it to find another job?

Leave a Reply

